IPL 2024: Salary of players retained by Punjab Kings (PBKS)

The cricketing world eagerly awaits the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 players’ auction scheduled to unfold in Dubai on December 19. With 333 cricketers set to enter the bidding fray, the stage is set for intense competition, and several players are poised to ignite bidding wars.

Of the 333 players in the auction pool, 214 are Indian cricketers, and 119 hail from international talent pools, including two players from associate nations. Among these, 116 cricketers are capped, while 215 are uncapped players, including two from associate nations.

Least number of players released

The Punjab Kings (PBKS) have chosen to retain the core of their team, releasing only five players ahead of the auction. The released players include Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mohit Rathee, Baltej Dhanda, Raj Angad Bawa, and Shahrukh Khan. Notably, Shahrukh, the explosive power-hitter from Tamil Nadu, was the most expensive release, having been acquired for a hefty sum of INR 9 crore.

Core unit retained

Punjab Kings’ decision to retain a majority of their players showcases their commitment to building a formidable squad. The core team features prominent names such as Shikhar Dhawan, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Liam Livingstone, Arshdeep Singh, and Kagiso Rabada.

The retention of English all-rounder Curran, who was bought for a staggering INR 18.5 crore, surprised many experts, but it underlines PBKS’s determination to maintain a competitive edge in the lucrative league. With the least number of players released, Punjab Kings’ strategic move sets the stage for a captivating auction where teams will vie for top-notch talent to bolster their squads.

Also READ: IPL 2024 – Salary of players retained by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR); check out how much Rinku Singh earns

Punjab Kings’ retained players and remaining purse:

  • Number of players: 19
  • Available slot: 08
  • Overseas slot: 2
  • Total money spent: INR 70.09 crores
  • Salary cap available: INR 29.01 crores

Salary of players retained by PBKS for IPL 2023:

  • Shikhar Dhawan – INR 8.25 crore
  • Jonny Bairstow – INR 6.75 crore
  • Jitesh Sharma – INR 20 lakh
  • Prabhsimran Singh – INR 60 lakh
  • Matthew Short – INR 20 lakh
  • Harpreet Bhatia – INR 40 lakh
  • Atharva Taide – INR 40 lakh
  • Rishi Dhawan – INR 55 lakh
  • Sam Curran – INR 18.5 crore
  • Sinkandar Raza – INR 50 lakh
  • Liam Livingstone – INR 11.5 crore
  • Gurnoor Singh Brar – INR 2 crore
  • Shivam Singh – INR 20 lakh
  • Rahul Chahar – INR 5.25 crore
  • Arshdeep Singh – INR 4 crore
  • Harpreet Brar – INR 3.8 crore
  • Vidwath Kaverappa – INR 20 lakh
  • Kagiso Rabada – INR 9.25 crore
  • Nathan Ellis – INR 75 lakh

Also READ: IPL 2024 Auction – Salary of players retained by Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *